Apple Jam

We had been given alot of cooking apples by a friend in the autumn and still have quite a few left to use. I haven’t done the right thing and wrapped them individually like you should, I’ve just had them in a basket in a cold porch. I’ve had to put a couple on the compost heap, but other wise they’re fine.

Here is the Apple Jam recipe I used. I like to use as simple a recipe as I can so that I have to buy as few ingredients as possible. If you haven’t made jam before I must encourage you because it’s cheaper, very rewarding and tastes yummy.

Here are the apples cooking before putting the sugar in , you can just smell them can’t you? (The peel and cores are in a muslin square)

And here is the finished product. The recipe does 14 jars, so there’s enough to store and to give as a gifts to  friends or family.

Any questions about jam making are welcome, just ask away!

Leave a Reply

