Thrifty and creative in the Kitchen

We have been decorating the kitchen, and I do like open shelves to have nice things displayed on them. I have one over the place where we make tha tea and have some teas displayed on it and our frequently used mugs. These shelves were on the wall when we arrive at the house and are from one of those packs you make up yourself, they were  useful but certainly not decorative. We have painted our walls pale duck egg (a Homebase colour) and I have decorated my shelves to complement the new decour.

We took the shelfs off the wall and I painted them with the emusion we painted the walls with, not in the rule books but doest cost anything and looks good. I did use a base coat first of ordinary white emulsion to help the coverage. Then as you can see below I had a bit of a play around with my acylic paints to work out the colours I might like to use for the design I wanted to put on them. If you don’t have acylic paint it’s very cheap to buy or use craft paint. Use the same paints to put the pattern on the shelves aswell.

This is a close up of the pattern I chose to do, I wanted something very simple. If your not confident in designing a pattern of your own, look through some magazines for something you can copy.

This is what the completed shelves look like. I am so pleased with them, it’s definately a worthwhile transformation!

What do you think?

One thought on “Thrifty and creative in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

