Sloe Jelly

After boiling up the fruit as I showed in my last post you have to drain the fruit through a jelly bag over night. Don’t squeeze as that will make the jelly go cloudy.

Measure the liquid and to every 100ml weigh out 75g sugar. Melt the sugar in the juice before bringing to the boil to get to setting point. Then pot into your warm sterilised jars.

With making jelly, I am always surprised at how little you get compared to jam but it’s worth it because of the flavour. I had just under 300ml of juice so made two small jars. I have never made sloe jelly before and it’s not set yet, but it has a lovely aromatic flavour with quite a dry after taste but I think it could replace cranberry sauce with turkey easily.

Leave a Reply

