The River Cottage Cookbook

Found this hardback copy of the above at Fakenam Parish Curch Book Fair on Saturday for £2.00, I’ve already got the paperback but I can’t resist a hardback, I’ll give the otherone away as a pressie. Many of you know already that Hugh is my lifestyle guru and re reading what he has to say at the beginning of this book reminds me why….

Hugh writes “There are two reasons why you may want to read this book. The first is more or less selfish, because the main aim here is simply to help you enjoy your life more – your life with food, that is. We all know that, on occasion, food can be the source of tremendous pleasure. My question is, why is it ever not?” ….and he goes on to explain more.

It doesn’t take a lot to eat better and enjoy our food and since I have learnt more about making the most out of the food we eat, we hardly every have a bad meal. Eg use the juices at the bottom of a roasting pan if not for gravy (which only needs flour and water from the veggies) scrape it out an use it to make a meat stock, mabe for a rissotto. It does make a difference, I love my food. There’s only one draw back, It makes you fussy about eating anywhere else! Go on get a copy of one of Hugh’s books, get inspired ( it’s not ponsey food either, it’s real food!)

I’m happy to answer any cooking questions!

Leave a Reply

