Posted in Preserving

Bullace Jam

Moving back to my old ways of thinking after this house move. Living a slow life had not been achieved for quite a while and part of our reason for moving was to return to this and take more time.

Keith had spotted some bullaces growing near our new house a few weeks ago so jam making was on the horizon straight away!

Bullace are related to sloes and you can identify them because they are completely round and not plum shaped and they look almost blue on the tree.

I used 2kg Bullaces and 300ml water. Then cooked for 10 or so minutes so that I could remove the stones with a slated spoon.

Then I added 2kg white sugar stirred until the sugar dissolved and boiled until setting point was reached.

I sterilized my jars by washing them in soapy water then put them on a baking tray in the oven on 100 degrees C while making the jam. 11 jars and a little bit extra at the cost of 2kg of sugar, suits me!

Author:

slow living, laughing, gardening, cooking, homemaking, slow food, making things, purple, eating with friends, chickens, faith in God, clothes, singing, red, my studio.........

Leave a comment