Greengage Crumble

I used up the last of the greengages from the fridge on Sunday to make a lovely crumble.

I halved and stoned the greengages and put them in a pan with a little water and sugar to taste and I added a couple of table spoons of lime and lemongrass cordial that I have left over from summer to add some zing. I just cooked them in a pan until they were nice and soft. Use approx. 1lb fruit, but I just use what I have. This is a great way to use any over ripe or blemished fruit so that it’s not wasted.

Greengage Crumble 1

My crumble mix I use is:

8oz flour – (I use white spelt flour – Gluten free flour works just the same)
4oz margerine or butter – ( I use a dairy free spread or goats butter)
2oz sugar – (I use raw sugar)

Cut up the marg or butter into little pieces and then rub with your fingertips into the flour. Stir in the sugar.  As I’m on a budget I always add a good helping of porridge oats to the mixed so I have enough for two puddings. ( I also add some ground almonds if I have them in the pantry)

Greengage Crumble 2
When it’s all nicely mixed, put half on your prepared fruit….Greengage Crumble 3
….and half in a sealed bag in the fridge. Remember they are all store cupboard products so this will keep in the fridge for at least  two or three weeks.
Greengage Crumble 4
The finished crumble is yummy and will give at least six portions.Greengage Crumble 5

2 thoughts on “Greengage Crumble

  1. Adding oats to crumble mix is not only a way of bulking out the mix – I wouldn’t have thought the oats were cheaper than flour to be honest – but they give a great flavour and texture. If I forget to add oats to my crumble I soon know about it! My husbands favourite phd! But I envy you your greengages!

Leave a Reply

